With Client Connect, Thread users can now share matter documents with their customers and allow customers to upload any documents directly to a matter.
Sharing Documents with Customers
1. Go to Client Connect within the matter.
2. Under the Sharing option, choose a contact or multiple contacts from the dropdown list (it will only show contacts who currently have access to Client Connect).
The top list of documents (Shared – Visible on Portal) shows documents that have been shared with selected contact/s or uploaded by them. The list below shows all documents within the matter.
1. All documents shared with the customer.
2. Current documents in the matter.
3. When you input a search term, it will display relevant documents both in Shared (Visible on Portal) and Choose document for sharing sections.
For ease of use, you can minimize either of the lists using the minimize icon.
4. When you have a contact or multiple contacts selected, you can click on + icon next to document/s to add it to shared list.
You can also select "Share All" to make it easier for you to share all documents with the client if needed quickly, without having to click on each document.
A confirmation will show up and just click OK to continue.
This will show the document/s on the Shared documents list for that contact/s.
When multiple contacts are selected, only documents that have been shared with all those selected contacts will be shown on the Shared documents list.
5. Click Save to start sharing those documents. Make sure to click Save before unselecting contact/s. Customer will receive an email notifying them that new documents have been shared via Client Connect.
Documents that were uploaded by contacts will also be visible on the Shared listand are uploaded directly to the Documents page showing as type Document (Portal)
Documents that were shared with the customer can be edited from the Documents page,
and any changes you make to the document will be visible to the customer when viewing
the document from the portal.
Shared documents are only editable by the Thread user within the matter. Customers will only see document preview in the portal without the option to edit. If they need to make changes to any document, you can allow them to download, and then they can upload an updated document as a new document to the matter.
Removing Shared Documents for Customers
In the Shared list, choose a contact or multiple contacts from the dropdown list and then click on the Delete button on the right of the document that you want to stop sharing with selected customer. This will only remove it from showing in the portal, it does not delete the document from the matter Activities page (this applies even if the document was uploaded by the client).
If you delete documents from the matter Documents page, they will also be deleted from Client Connect.